Faculty of Agriculture Undergraduate Research Symposium (FAuRS)

The concept of undergraduate research symposia was first introduced to the university system of Sri Lanka in 1993 by the deaprtment of Animal Science, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya. Since then, annual student reseach sessions had been a tradition of the faculty. In 2014, the faculty took another step forward by conducting a common student research symposium for the entire faculty. The FAuRS is providing a platform for graduting students to present their valuble final sesmter research findings and interact with experts in the sector, peers, and prospective employers. This will no doubt enhance the research culture within the faculty and the university system.


Click here


Click here

FAuRS downloads

Click here

Past FAuRS events

Click here

Past FAuRS Events

FAuRS 2019

The Faculty of Agriculture Undergraduate Research Symposium – FAuRS-2019, was successfully staged on 16th July 2020 for the sixth consecutive year at the Theater, Department of Animal Science, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya with over 150 participants including final year students, academic & non-academic staff, judges & chairpersons of the technical sessions and sponsors from the private sectors.

The event was graced by Prof. Upul B. Dissanayake, The Vice-Chancellor, University of Peradeniya, Prof. Gamini Pushpakumara, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, Prof. J.K. Vidanarachchi, Coordinator FAuRS 2019, Deans of other Faculties, Heads of Departments, academic staff members, non-academic staff members and the paper presenters and winners from the non-technical completions participated the event adhering all the guidelines issued by the government of Sri Lanka and the UGC in controlling Covid-19 pandemic. Prof D.K.N.G. Pusphakumara Dean, Faculty of Agriculture delivered the welcome address. The Faculty of Agriculture of the University of Peradeniya, being the pioneer Faculty of Agriculture in the University system of Sri Lanka, is holding FAuRS as an annual event with the objective of providing an opportunity for the graduands of the three degree programmes offered by the Faculty of Agriculture, namely the BSc in Agricultural Technology and Management, BSc in Food Science and Technology, and BSc in Animal Science and Fisheries, to present the findings of their final year research projects. The proceedings of the FAuRS-2019 presented the findings of 212 research projects in the form of abstracts. They were organized under four themes, i.e. Agricultural Production & Productivity, Technological Interventions & Applications in Agriculture, Food Quality & Product Development and Community & Environment, depicting key thematic areas of the curricular of the three degree programmes offered by the Faculty of Agriculture.

Technical sessions
Coordinators: Prof. Pradeepa Silva, Prof. Jeevika Weerahewa, Dr. S.A. Weerasooriya

Twenty seven (27) oral presentations in four parallel sessions and another 27 poster presentation in four parallel sessions were held under different thematic areas. These 54 oral and poster presentations were selected on merit basis from 212 graduands of 2019 from eight departments of studies in all three degree programs offered by the Faculty. The cash prize of Rs. 100,000 for the overall best presenter was awarded to Ms. S. A. Edirisinghe (Ag/14/FT/004) by Sarvodaya Sustainable Economic Enterprise Development Services Limited (Sarvodaya SEEDS) in the closing session by Prof. Upul B Dissanayake, Vice Chancellor, University of Peradeniya. The best oral and poster presentations of each session were given certificates and cash awards.

Non-Technical Competitions
  • Three minute thesis presentation - 3MT (Coordinator: Ms. Viraji Jayaweera)
  • Research Briefs (Coordinator: Dr. L. Rankoth)
  • “Scientific-Eye” Photography (Coordinator: Dr. S.A. Weerasooriya)
  • Research Video (Coordinator: Dr. J.M.P.N. Anuradha)
  • Inventions & Innovations (Coordinator: Dr. Duminda N. Vidana Gamage)
Symposium Proceedings
(Coordinators: Prof. M.I.M. Mowjood, Prof. J.K. Vidanarachchi, Mr. F.H.C.A. Silva, Dr. K.K.D.V. Jayatilake and Dr. Suranga Kodithuwakku)

Symposium proceedings with 212 edited abstracts were released at the inauguralsession of the symposium by Prof D.K.N.G. Pusphakumara, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture. Abstracts were submitted by easy chair customized for the FAuRS with the support of Dr. P.M.P.C. Gunathilake, Faculty of Science, University of Peradeniya.

Organizing Committee
• Prof. D.K.N.G. Pushpakumara Dean/ Faculty of Agriculture
• Prof. J.K. Vidanarachchi Coordinator/FAuRS-2019
• Prof. E.R.N. Gunawardena Former Dean
• Prof. Buddhi Marambe Former Dean
• Prof. Pradeepa Silva Coordinator/FAuRS-2014
• Prof. S.P. Nissanka Coordinator/FAuRS-2015, and Chairperson FRC
• Prof. Jeevika Weerahewa Coordinator/FAuRS-2016
• Prof. C.M.B. Dematawewa Coordinator/FAuRS-2017
• Prof. M.I.M. Mowjood Coordinator/FAuRS-2018
• Dr. P.H.P. Prasanna Secretary - Department of Animal Science
• Dr. S.A. Weerasooriya Department of Agric. Eco. & Business Management
• Prof. K.M.S. Wimalasiri Department of Food Science and Technology
• Dr. W.M.T.P. Ariyarathne Dept. of Crop Science
• Dr. R.S. Dharmakeerthi Dept. of Soil Science
• Dr. K.S.P. Kodithuwakku Dept. of Animal Science
• Dr. J.M.P.N. Anuradha Dept. of Agricultural Extension
• Dr. D.M.S.B. Dissanayaka Dept. of Crop Science
• Dr. N.U. Jayawardana Dept. of Agric. Biology
• Ms. M. Wijerathna Dept. of Agricultural Extension
• Dr. K.K.D.V. Jayathilake Dept. of Agric. Biology
• Dr. V.G.D. Nayanaka Dept. of Soil Science
• Dr. L.M. Rankoth Dept. of Crop Science
• Dr. E.R.J. Samarakoon Dept. of Food Science and Technology
• Ms. V. Jayaweera Department of Agric. Eco. & Business Management
• Mr. R.M.R.D. Abeyrathna Dept. of Agricultural Engineering
• Mr. F.H.C. Silva Dept. of Agricultural Engineering
• Mr. W.M.M.P. Hulugalla Dept. of Animal Science
• Ms. S.G.V.B. Warnasooriya Dept. of Animal Science
• Mr. J.P. Wesley Assistant Registrar/FA
• Mrs. S.N.K. Karunarathna Assistant Bursar/FA


The organizing committee expresses their sincere gratitude to the Dean/Faculty of Agriculture, activity coordinators & members, academic staff members, academic support staff, chairpersons, judges, resource persons, sponsors and well-wishers who supported in various ways to make this event a glory to the Faculty of Agriculture. Our special appreciation is to Dr. P.M.P.C. Gunathilake, Faculty of Science for his contribution in compilation of abstracts.

Image gallery

Quick Links

Website links for our partner websites

Solution by TekGeeks