Annual forum of Project Inspire concluded, creating many winners from the University of Peradeniya

The annual forum of “Project Inspire'' was held at the Radisson Hotel Colombo on the 16th and 17th of March. More than 300 students from the four state universities, including the University of Sri Jayawardenapura, the University of Peradeniya, the South Eastern University, and the University of Jaffna, participated. The event took place as a part of the project Inspire, implemented by SDJF and Helvetas Sri Lanka. 

A Panel Discussion for the Annual Forum was held, which was moderated by Dr. MC Rasmin with the participation of Dr. Uvasara Dissanyake, Head of the Department of Agricultura Extension at the University of Peradeniya, Dr. Senani Harishchandra, Senior Lecturer, Department of Sinh

ala and Mass Communications, and Ms. Poongularly SriSangeerathan, Lecturer and active head of the Department of Media Studies at the University of Jaffna.

The Inspire Project  Award ceremony was declared open by Azad Mustaffa the Program Director of SDJF. The students from the University of Peradeniya, the University of Sri Jayawardenapura, the University of Jaffna, and South Eastern University Sri Lanka competed in over 8 media categories for this award which included multimedia articles, blogs, mobile photography, mobile story, doodle art, short film, and digital drama. The Jaffna University was crowned for overall best performance in the competition. Mr. Kumar Lopez, the CEO of the Sri Lanka Press Institute, presented the award for best mobile photography to K.G. Dinithi Gamlath of the University of Peradeniya. The best blog article award was won by Dilshi Nirmani Samarakoon from the University of Peradeniya. Mr. Lasantha Ruhunage, Deputy Editor and News Editor of the Anidda newspaper presented the award. 

The winner of the mobile video story was W.M. Yohan Fernando. from the University of Peradeniya. The award was presented by Dr. J.M.P.N. Anuradha, Lecturer, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. Further, UOP won an award for the best virtual participation. Liaison officers Miss Nipuni Jayasinghe and Ruwini Sandamini from the Department of Agricultural Extension were awarded for their service rendered towards the success of the project.






Quick Links

Website links for our partner websites

Solution by TekGeeks